Bat Cave River Cottages, on the river in the Mountains of Bat Cave Western North Carolina
   
  Bat Cave River Cottages, on the river in the Mountains of Bat Cave Western North Carolina Bat Cave River Cottages Bat Cave River Cottages Bat Cave, North Carolina

Bat Cave River Cottages - Reviews

 
James LandierNovember 10, 2017
We are moving out of the 3Br. today from a 4 night stay have always thought it was a private home. Just happen to find it as a rental. Close to Asheville & the game room to keep the kids bus. It was the most amazing place we have ever stayed with the river Whitewater just below the deck & the view from Hot Tub. We will be back for sure!!2 miles to Chimney Rock & 3 miles to Lake Lure we come 3 times a year. Will always here if available.

Ed ThompsonOctober 23, 2017
We stayed in the 1Br. this time have stayed in the 3Br. before as always it is the BEST place to stay if you are looking for fun Lake Lure, Chimney Rock Park a stone’s throw away. And Asheville is a quick road trip. As always Bruce & Marion Baker Thank You Again!!

Kim and Michael PearceOctober 4, 2017
We stayed in the 1 bedroom cabin for 2 nights-loved every minute! The covered porch is really big with plenty of room to grill out , relaxing in the hot tub with the beautiful view of the river right under you. The owners, Bruce and Mariam are so nice, certainly makes you want to book another weekend.

Dave JohnsonApril 4, 2017
We stayed in the 3Br.Cottage & we have stayed in a lot of Vacation rentals in the local area many times. None have been as nice. Right on the river and Hot Tub on the back deck ,White water sound and then the message chair inside after a lot of hiking. Nothing better!!! 5 Star accomodations for sure!!

Anne ThomasAugust 8, 2016
My Family and Friends stayed at the 3 bedroom home on the river from July 10-15, 2016. This was my second trip to this home and it was just as awesome as it was the first time a year ago. Very Clean, Awesome view, great size, plenty of things to do. We ate dinner there every night on the back porch and it was amazing. It rained in the evening and then it got quite chilly outside which was super nice cause we come from 100+ degree weather. Nothing like the rain with lightning bugs while relaxing in the hot tub! There were 5 adults and one child and our doggy and we had plenty of room. Bruce and Marion Baker are the BEST and so accommodating. I only hope that after my second awesome review I am able to get in next year!!!

Ryan ArchieJuly 14, 2016
My friend and I stayed in the 1 bedroom cottage on the river over the 4th of July weekend. That layout was great and it directly on the river. I loved the view off of the deck, the hot tub, and soo much more. Mr. Bruce is a nice and accommodating person. I will definitelystay again.

Jennifer PasqualeApril 27, 2016
Sorry my last review was blank I absolutely loved this place and I will be back again very soon! I loved that it was a hop skip and a jump away from Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. Also super close to Burntshirt Vineyards and Black Mountain which has the best brunch place on the entire east coast, Louise’s. That is a 20 minute drive from the cottage but I highly recommend that you try. The cottage is right off the main road which I love and it overlooks the river which is so very beautiful. The hot tub is amazing, private and secluded. It is on the deck right above the river. I just love it. The inside of the cottage was small but cozy. The bed was super comfy and the owner was very easy to deal with. We will be back!

Penny JohnsonApril 7, 2016
Don’t let the exterior fool you. The 3 bedroom place is marvelous. The kitchen is top notch. Perfect for cooking family dinners that we ate on the patio each night. The guys fished while we hung out around the rocks and sunned. The proprietors were warm and helpful.

Mat DavidsonMarch 31, 2016
We called reserved the 3Br. for 4 nights and had the best time of our lives, Couldn’t have found a better place with the Hot Tub, Message chair and a view and all the white Water sound’s. Fall right to sleep at night!!!

Gene and Jennifer FerrisMarch 27, 2016
we love staying here, super clean lot of extras included river is beautiful and soothing definitely come back next year 5 Stars also pet friendly!

GEORGIA GRAYAugust 23, 2015
We rented the 1BR cottage. It more than exceeded our expectations. We had everything we needed and then some. Beautiful/comfy cottage and spectacular deck and view. We were happy, happy, happy. Husband has not been happy with anywhere we have stayed in the mountains except here. The river sounds were awesome. We shall return!

AnneJuly 21, 2015
We stayed at the Bat Cave River Cottage 3 bedroom on 6/25-6/29/2015. It was amazing. There were 6 of us in the house. 4 adults and 2 children (ages 6&7). From the moment we arrived we just knew the good times that were ahead of us. The house is situated in the PERFECT spot. Directly on the Broad River literally. The sound of that river alone made the trip. Three wonderful bedrooms and two bathrooms made everything effortless. We cooked all but 3 meals in the house. The kitchen is loaded so there is nothing that you need except what you want to cook. The house is super clean and well kept. The best part to us was the deck out back. Between the hot tub, grill, and river that seems to be where we were most of the time. At night there were so many lightning bugs that the whole outside sparkled. I honestly can not say enough good things about this house of the homeowners. I will definitely be returning to this house!

FloridaJanuary 3, 2015
We spent Christmas here with our 2 adult children who are in their twenties. What a cozy place with fireplace and great kitchen. The two bedrooms are very comfortable and a lot of room. The Loft is great with the TV and futon. Love the large beams on the ceiling that gave it just the right atmosphere I was looking for. We got a Christmas tree in nearby Hendersonville, which has everything you need, including a wonderful Ingles grocery store. Loved going to a nearby church for Christmas Eve service. Made Christmas cookies and watched Christmas movies. Went to the incredible Biltmore House in the early afternoon to have the tour. My children absolutely loved it and of course it was decorated magnificently for Christmas. We had Christmas dinner there. Beautiful memories. Wonderful 30 minute drive to Ashville. Great little stopping off places in Bat Cave and Chimney Rock, etc. Bruce and Marion were delightful and very helpful. Picked Bat Cave because it is at a 1400 ft elevation and easy to drive to and not too mountainous in case of bad weather. Cozy cabing with an excellent price.

AshleyNovember 10, 2014
This rental has everything you could be looking for in a mountain stay! From the huge deck you can see the mountains, the color of the leaves was beautiful during our October stay. The river is rushing right below you, there is comfortable, clean furniture on the deck, nothing better than having coffee and listening to it in the morning. The hot tub and grill are in great condition. Huge TV, well stocked kitchen, comfortable bed, I literally have nothing bad to say. Location is perfect. The drive into Chimney rock village took less than five minutes. Hendersonville and Asheville were super close. With our prime location my new husband and I were able to visit Chimney Rock, explore the village, and drive to and enjoy Asheville in the same day. Loved that they keep brochures for what to do and where to eat inside the cabin. It was private and could be made even more so by the blinds they’ve had installed, but I love that you didn’t have to take a one lane road up the side of a mountain to get there! All in all we couldn’t be more pleased, it was a perfect honeymoon location and we’re already picking our brains about who we can send here as a gift first!

St. PierreOctober 15, 2014
“Creek side pleasure !! Love the closeness to the creek” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2014 NEW Had a great time at this cottage it was very cozy and loved how close we were to the creek- the owners were very kind even help when our car batter went down! The area was also beautiful - loved riding to Hendersonville and seeing the apple orchards and going to lake lure - wish we could have stayed longer!!

LarryOctober 14, 2014
First ones to stay in the 2Br. Log Cabin. Irmo, South Carolina 1 review “Beautiful cabin in excellent location. Fully furnished with all anyone would need.” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago for a stay in October 2014 NEW We stayed four days and was most enjoyable stay we have ever had. One mile to Bat Cave and Chimney Rock and only 11 miles to Hendersonville. Cabin was clean and right on stream with a beautiful flowing sound over rocks. Anyone would be happy in this cabin. Bruce and his wife are the most friendliest people to deal with and very helpful with anything you need. 5 of 5 stars Ease of booking 5 of 5 stars Directions to the property 5 of 5 stars Key pickup/access to the property 5 of 5 stars Overall condition 5 of 5 stars Quality of bedding/mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen/utensils quality 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness of bathroom 5 of 5 stars Quality of facilities/amenities 5 of 5 stars Service Liked best: Location and cleanliness of cabin Traveling group: Spouse/Partner Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend? Yes. Recommended for: Friends getaway Older travelers Families with young children •The property was "as advertised". •I recommend the location. •The property was a good value for the price paid.

DaveAugust 25, 2014
“Idyllic, romantic and peaceful get-a-way to paradise!” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014 NEW Bat Cave River Cottages offers so much for the traveler. The cottage we stayed in (for the second time) was absolutely perfect. From the river below constantly serenading us to the wonderful hot tub to the off-the-beaten-path location was the answer to every tense moment of daily life. Everything was geared for total relaxation and peace. We enjoyed the massage chair and the outdoor grill for a tasty meal. Bruce and Marion are the best hosts you could ever have and their cottages are the best.

Tom & VickiAugust 15, 2014
We really enjoyed the time these last few days at this place. It’s located along a steam, and where 2 streams converge. The deck overlooking the steams. My wife especially liked the sound of the water each night. It is also a short distance to many places you can visit. Bruce and Marian greeted us the next day as we had arrived late. Everything was ready and wonderful for us on arrival. We had everything we needed for a pleasant and relaxing time away. I High recommend this place and area.

Jeff HeddenJuly 16, 2014
What a great place to go relax and not be bothered by anything except the soothing sound of the nearby river while sitting in the hot tub. We did have to personally retrieve our own adult beverages, but atleast they were just footsteps away. Much to do in nearby areas to include hiking, golfing, activities on Lake Lure, and towns nearby such as Asheville and Hendersonville, NC. A fantastic getaway location.

Terri & JoseApril 22, 2014
"Relaxation at its finest!" My husband and I spent Easter weekend here and had the most amazing time! The hot tub, deck, fireplace and coziness of the cottage were beyond our expectations and allowed us to fully relax and reconnect. Bruce and Marion were absolutely wonderful and went out of their way to make us feel welcome; it felt like we were staying with family. We will definitely be returning in the summer and brining friends with us! We can’t wait to share this gem with them and dip our toes in the river! See you soon!

Jerry OliverApril 9, 2014
"Nice and Cozy" We had a great time during Spring Break 2014. We wanted to do something a little different with grandkids this year, and this Cottage was perfect. (We normally go to Gatlinburg) Cottage sits right on the river with the deck actually out over the river. Hot tub was well taken care of and located where we had a nice view of the river. We didn’t realize we had scheduled opening day of trout fishing season, but we took advantage, and my son caught several nice fish right on the property. I enjoyed the fact that the cottage is a part of history, (Former Bat Cave Post Office), yet everything was updated with new fixtures and electronics. The beds slept great, and the grand kids loved the game room. Chimney Rock State Park and little downtown area are just a few minutes from the cottage on the same road. We were a little concerned about available dining close by, but were pleasantly surprised with the variety of options. Also used the available stainless Weber grill on the deck. I am certain we will return later in the summer. The owners were very nice, and made us feel like we were appreciated. Overall a very nice and relaxing vacation. (The massage chair was a bonus when I could get the kids out of it)

Tabitha DrakeMarch 31, 2014
Tabitha -N- Tony March 30,2014 We came up looking for the perfect getaway, and absolutely loved it. We wished we could have stayed longer. The Baker’s have the cottages equipped with everything you could need. Things were very neat and clean also really cozy. The view was great our favorite was the hot tub. Looking forward to coming back to stay again very soon. Hospitality was outstanding Thanks again for the perfect stay!

The WebbersMarch 27, 2014
"Better Than Described" My husband and I completely and thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bat Cave Rivers Cottage to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. Mr. and Mrs. Baker were very nice and gracious hosts with a wealth of information about the area. The cottage was very clean and inviting. We enjoyed the view from the private patio, the hot tub, and gas grill. We were very pleased with the cottages homey feel and wish we would’ve been able to stay longer. It is definitely worth visiting again soon!

ElizabethMarch 11, 2014
"Excellent fabulous extravagant I want to go back as soon as poss" The best place me and my family has ever stayed while vacationing in chimney rock. Beautiful views and a wonderful 6 person hit tub. Everything was very clean and even a massage chair. Big deck for all your needs with a grill swing sets. My wife and I personal enjoyed the hard work and a lot of effort to make a beautiful place. Cannot wait to go back and relax In a perfect getaway

SilverFoxDecember 14, 2013
This was our second fall trip to the Baker’s cabin. It’s works so well as a fun, family reunion home. Bruce & Marion have thought of just about everything. Since our family is food oriented we use their great kitchen as a gathering place where someone is always preparing their favorite dish or snack for all to try. The quaint living room was well used as a sports venue by day( huge flat screen w/NFL package) and a board game marathon hall at night. Bring your own or experiment with their inventory. Plenty of quiet, warm and comfortable bedrooms upstairs for those wonderful afternoon naps! I left the covered deck for last. Great hot tub, a Weber "turbo-charged grill and trout stream views that chase away all those demons you brought with you. Pour yourself two fingers of Maker’s Mark, light up a Fuente and and listen to the water!

R. ConsroeOctober 24, 2013
The location and apartment were wonderful. The apartment had all the amenities that could be desired and the river was spectacular to hear and see from the deck. Mr. and Mrs. Baker were extremely hospitable and a true pleasure to meet. We hope to return soon.

Miriam & Scott GustafsonOctober 2, 2013
How does one describe one of the best getaways ever? My eyes had trouble taking in all the beauty. The blue sky and different hues of green all was breathtaking. My ears sensitive to the sounds of the river. Rushing white water over the rocks and yet it was so peacefully quiet in its own way. The smell of fresh mountain air makes me want to bottle it somehow. The home feels like we were home. Very clean and shows how dedicated Bruce and Marion are to keeping it well maintained. The kitchen has everything you could want. If you run out of pepper...Bruce comes over to the rescue. If you get cold and didn’t bring a sweatshirt....Marion to the rescue. The master bed is more comfortable then the TempurPedic we have a home. Now the living room is as homey as it gets. They have thought of everything from the big tv to games and even a deck of cards. One step inside and you fall in love, not just with the home but the owners as well. They are one of a kind. Even the neighbors are a blast. This is the perfect place to bring families or just a personal getaway. Thank you once more, Bruce and Marion. We will never forget all you have done for us....especially me...the other Marian. We look forward to coming back "home". ---- God Bless, Marian & Scott

Mark JonesAugust 27, 2013
"Riverfront Perfection!" Had a great reconnection with a friend at this great riverfront cabin. Plenty of room inside and out. The best deck ever. Bruce was great and another reservation was made on the spot. Great place!

DestinyAugust 15, 2013
"Gift from Grandmother" My grandmother rented this for my boyfriend and me for our first year anniversary. It was lovely. The area is rustic, but has all amenities. It was peaceful and relaxing, yet there were activities all around. The owners were always on top of everything, ensuring that we were cared for, yet they were unobtrusive. Recommend to everyone who wants to enjoy the beauty of God’s creation and do it in great comfort.

Troy & KellyAugust 6, 2013
"Wonderfully impressed by so much!" Our 15th anniversary getaway was extra special thanks to the friendliness of our hosts and the charming and pleasant accommodations. I was impressed with the cleanliness, attention to details, the well-equipped kitchen, and the awesome deck with great views and sounds of the river. My husband and I also enjoyed our day trips to Chimney Rock and historic Hendersonville that were so nearby. Relaxing was made easy and simple with the whirlpool and the new massage chair. We would definitely return for a future visit.

MaryJuly 22, 2013
"We love this place!" Wow! What a wonderful place to stay! We expected a quality rental, and this was well above our expectations! Beautifully appointed, comfortable, clean beyond clean, this place was amazing. The deck in back was so big it was like a second living room - we spent much of our time out here. What a pleasure to wake up and overlook the river. The owners were as gracious and helpful as can be, even giving us some local knowledge of things to do that really pointed us in the right direction. I have given this site to several of my friends and family. My kids loved it too!

AngieJuly 19, 2013
"Wonderful" We really enjoyed our stay here. Bruce and Marion are very friendly people. My sister and her family rented the 1 bedroom next door and we had a blast. They have everything you can possibly think of in the house. They provide so much more than most rentals. We stayed for three nights but only left the house for maybe a total of 4-5 hours. The fishing and river raft keep us enjoying family time. The sound of the river at night makes for a great nights sleep. The parking area is right on the side of the road but it never gave us any trouble. They definitely allow you to see the beauty God created.

SonnyShineJuly 19, 2013
"Wonderful Family Vacation" As business owners ourselves, we really appreciate the professionalism and personal caring attention that we received from Bruce and Marion during our family vacation. From fixing the cable that I had inadvertently messed up to bringing over an umbrella for us to use when there was rain, Bruce and Marion were there for us. The house is charming and a great place for a family vacation. The river is right out your back door and sets the mood for a calm rejuvenating stay. Having the WiFi capabilities meant that when there was rain and we couldn’t get out, our 11 yr old Grandson wasn’t driving us crazy!! The location is perfect, because you are so close to so many great adventures and you won’t have to waste precious time driving far! Thank you Marion & Bruce for a super wonderful time and for being the perfect hosts :o)

Lee WalkerJuly 17, 2013
a great retirement celebration !! This is the third time we have stayed at this property. The owners, Bruce & Marion, are wonderful hosts, and they have become friends. My kids & grand kids joined us on this trip, as we were celebrating my recent retirement. This is the first time we have stayed in the 3BR unit, and it was perfect for our needs. It even had a game room for my grand kids. They enjoyed playing air hockey and shuffleboard. We all enjoyed the outdoor deck hot tub. The kitchen has all modern appliances, as well as a washer & dryer, which was a plus since we had the kids along. We will definitely be returning whenever possible.

Amy DawnJuly 17, 2013
This place is spectaculicous!!! My friends and rented this place as a girls retreat/birthday celebration! There were 8 women & this place had enough room for us and our luggage! Lol. From the moment you enter the house, step on the deck & enjoy the view, you feel spectaculicious!! Yes I made up a word because spectacular & fabulous is just not enough adjectives. The owners are pure beautiful spirits who genuinely enjoy the guests. They told us all about the trails & the waterfalls & gave us directions. Once you visit this place once, you will definitely return again & again. I plan on returning with my husband next. I highly recommend this place to families, couples, girls get away, reunions & etc.. Bruce and Marion, I will be seeing you soon! :-D

vilma & HectorJune 29, 2013
"We had an amazing retreat for our selves at a clean place!!" Definetly one of the best clean places we ever been!! A quiet area, the coulple Bruce & Marion very nice people, the river so beautiful ahhh we can say lots of more nice things about this place, we just Love it

Jenn, ZackJune 29, 2013
"Perfect place to enjoy the mountains" We spent 3 nights here for our 5th anniversary. We were actually only supposed to spend 2 nights but "added on" because the river was so relaxing. The hosts are wonderful - rental is super clean and has a great deck

Julie & StuartJune 14, 2013
"Peaceful and Cozy Escape from the World" Better than a hotel ... a home away from home. Spend hours on the beautiful spacious deck with a river view second to none! Close to mountain drives, tourist attractions and civilization if/when you need it. Bruce and Marion are wonderful folks and have a gem on their hands.

Brad & AnneJune 11, 2013
"Absolutely wonderful!" We have been all over Lake Lure / Chimney Rock / The Bat Cave area and have never felt more invited to stay and join the family here at these river cottages! Bruce and Marion are truly blessed people and own a little slice of paradise on the Broad River. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was everything that we wanted and so much more. Truly a home away from home! Thank you both so much for a blessed vacation!

Lauren & Andrew KeyJune 3, 2013
Excellent anniversary vacation We took this trip to celebrate our first year wedding anniversary and we had such a great time. Bat cave was located well for what we wanted to do (triple falls, Biltmore, chimney rock etc). However, we wanted to go to dinner on Wednesday and found out that most places were closed. We found a restaurant open, so it was no biggie. On top of being able to get to everything, the house itself was so cozy. The porch was great for morning coffee and outdoor dinners. Our dog absolutely loved sitting on the porch as well. And for just getting some sun and relaxation time, there is nothing better than the float in the river! The hot tub was amazing for relaxing before and after hiking and touring. The game room provided entertainment in the evenings that is completely different than a usual evening. The kitchen had everything we needed to make breakfast, lunches, and dinner. The owners were totally there and willing to help us with anything we needed. It was such a great relaxing trip!

KimberlyApril 19, 2013
"River cottage & Fishing getaway." First time I have ever booked a stay online and found it to be more then advertised. This little cottage is so well cared for, by the owners and the vacationers. Simply a happy place, inside and out. Minutes from Chimney Rock, Lake Lure and Ingles grocery store and yet, once you leave you car and go down the steps, you are taken to a world of your own. The river world, with the sites, sounds, fishing, floating and more. Lizards, ducks and bats to entertain you. The deck and hot tub are so private, with comfortable seating and a really nice gas grill. The kitchen is so well equipped, that you never miss that there is no stove. Such detail went into the construction, that you are amazed by the beautiful faucets, ample lighting, and tons of outlets for your electronic devices. I can’t think of a thing this little piece of paradise needed. The owners are available, but if you don’t need them, you don’t even know they are there. And if you call on them, you are greeted with kindness. Good people they are and they make you feel at ease. I can’t wait to go again.

TiffanyApril 12, 2013
Tiffany & Kristie Columbia, SC A perfect, relaxing, one of a kind adventure...we miss it alread Left on 04/09/2013 for a stay in April 2013 We were fortunate enough to stay at the Bat Cave River Cottage last week for a few days’ vacation.. I’ve never been to Bat Cave, didn’t know much about the area...figured it might be too far away from "everything else". Wow was I wrong... we had everything there. The house was beautiful...charming...cozy. The house has been updated to include the modern conveniences and luxuries, but it hasn’t lost its authenticity... the wood throughout the place makes you feel like you’ve been transported back in time(in a good way) and you’re experiencing a true cabin adventure...not to mention views of the river everywhere you look. The deck was amazing ... that view is hard to beat. The hot tub was a definite bonus. I already miss the sound of the river...it made for some great sleeping too! Don’t worry about the cottage being next to the road...you will barely even notice the cars passing by... it’s very quiet inside and out. Anything you can possibly need they will have at the house. The kitchen is furnished with everything that will help you cook a great meal so you don’t have to leave the house if you don’t want to. But if you do decide to venture out...we were close to everything... Lake Lure, Chimney Rock, Hendersonville, Asheville... the drive to Black Mountain was awesome and the town was charming...definitely recommend that. Wherever we went we didn’t want to be gone for very long because we enjoyed being at the house relaxing. Bruce and Marion are wonderful hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have a great stay. Make plans to spend your next weekend or vacation with them and you will leave already thinking about when you can return! Surely one of the best decisions we’ve made, one of the best trips we can remember. Hope you enjoyed your birthday weekend, Marion. Hope to see you and Bruce again soon. Thanks for the trip!

GleenApril 12, 2013
Glenn Statesville NC Beautiful Place and Views Left on 04/10/2013 for a stay in April 2013 My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon and It was an excellent choice. This place had wonderful views and the owner was super nice to us, was well taken care of and clean. We will be going back, and hopefully soon. Thanks for the great hospitality Bruce!!

AngelMarch 22, 2013
"Calgon doesn’t compare to this experience!!! Amazing" What a wonderful getaway!!! We had the best time. Our 3 days there could not have been any better. The cottage was perfect. Everything from from a corkscrew to the hot tub! Bruce and Marion are great.John and I would like to thank them for a very memorable weekend!

Jim & ToniaMarch 19, 2013
"A great place to stay, right on the river!" This one bedroom cottage is just a perfect place to stay, in the heart of the mountains. Close to anything you want to do. Need to relax? A hot tub on a large deck, with dining table, comfortable chairs and gas grill, right on the river. The cottage is very comfortable and the owners are awesome! If you arrive on a bike, ( of the motorized variety) to ride through the mountains, just let them know and they’ll ride with you. What a great time we had! Will definitely make a trip back there. They are just wonderful people who want you to enjoy your stay.

Scott B. & Jessica B.February 20, 2013
Review #5924775 It may not be a cabin on the outside, but it is and so much more! Fantastic!! While looking for a place to stay with my girlfriend this Valentines weekend, I never would of thought of staying in a place called "Bat Cave". But now I am so glad we did! The house was great, alot of history, spectacular views, and its gorgeous on the inside. The kitchen was amazing, great hot tub on the deck right above the river, staring up at the stars! The pictures do no justice, believe me. I live at the beach, but love mountains and rivers most of all. You cant ask to be in a better spot if you love those too. I had a permanent smile the whole time I was up there!! Its only a short 1 mile or so drive along the river and rock faced mountains, through a tiny historic town which leads you right to chimney rock, and keep going another mile, and your right at Lake Lure. Cant beat the area, and I’m still surprised at how nice the people are everywhere up there. Even the supermarket in lake Lure was gorgeous. We took a 20 min drive to Hendersonville one night for dinner, and you have to eat at the "Flat Rock Wood Room". I was amazed how good the wood fired pizza and BBQ was, which i’m extremely picky about, and amazing staff too. We took a ride to Asheville, which was a gorgeous ride in itself (40 mins) and got on the Blue Ridge parkway from there. (which mostly was closed, so check before you go) All i have to say is I was sad to leave, but so excited I found a future place to return. I will be back for sure, hopefully during trout season. Thanks again to the owners Bruce & Marion for making it possible, and for the hospitality. They are very nice people, who will make you feel comfortable upon meeting them, and give you your privacy while there. I will be seeing you again soon! Sincerely, Scott B & Jessica B

SilverFoxFebruary 13, 2013
My wife and I rented the main cottage and set up our Christmas tree to celebrate the holiday with our son Matt who lives in Charlotte. He drove over with three friends. We had a ball! We all think we are chefs so the fact that the kitchen was set up so well was an added bonus. The deck is awesome, extends over the creek and has a 6-person hot tub that was put to good use by Matt and his gang of 3. It’s also a great spot for a Knob Creek on the rocks and a good cigar. The living room is so comfortable and Bruce and Marion are great hosts. The wandering in nearby towns can’t be beat. It’s got it all! This is one of those places that I was reluctant to review for fear that it will hurt availability when we return. Enjoy! Stayed December 2012, traveled with family

Bruce the OWNERDecember 20, 2012
The Joe Rosmell Nov.5th is for the 1Br. the 3Br. does have a FULL KITCHEN. The 1Br. does have plenty of appliances,Not a full size oven. We had a renter question that one. All reviews for all my rentals are in this one location on this Web Site. Needed to clarify that.

Bonnie & Eric SmithDecember 11, 2012
Review #5768253 honeymoon My new husband and i chose Bat Cave Cottages blindly on line and I have to say we couldn’t have made a better choice. We are from tampa, florida and wanted to spend our honeymoon in the mountains of North Carolina.Neither of us had been there. The advertizement was everything and more than advertized. The cottage had everything we could possibly need. All we needed was the food. The owners are very warm and friendly. We really enjoyed meeting them and look forward to seeing them again. The cottage was absolutely perfect!!!!!!!! We didn’t want to leave. My favorite spot was sitting on the porch watching and listening to the river. So peaceful! Have to say the hot tub wasn’t bad either :). We will be going back in the summer so that we can enjoy the water and swim right there below our private deck. We definitely recommend staying there to anyone who wants to enjoy the privacy and beautiful view that we enjoyed. Thank you for your hospitality. See you again soon !

Joe RosmellNovember 5, 2012
Amazing view from the deck. Although property is right on the roadway, once inside the cottage or on the deck it is quiet and very private. Pictures on website are accurate. Cottage was clean and well equipped. Does not have a stove however a grill is on deck and other cooking options are provided. Hot tub was wonderful! Easy drive to Chimney Rock, Lake Lure and Hendersonville. Would stay here again when in the area and definitely recommend to friends and relatives.

Amanda GreenOctober 14, 2012
Bat Cave River Cottages is a wonderful place to stay near Chimney Rock and Lake Lure. We had reservations to stay 3 nights in Oct, 2012. It was very cozy and clean and we loved the huge deck on the river. It has everything you need to have a great time. The owners are absolutely wonderful people and really go out of their way to make sure you have a good time. We had to leave a day early due to me getting sick from my asthma, and the owner was able to rent the cottage to someone else, so he called and is sending me part of the money I had paid, back to me. That is a good person to deal with. We do plan on coming back again and again. Thank you for being such wonderful folks and being concerned about me being sick. God Bless You!!!! Amanda Green Cleveland, NC

Elizabeth DoeringJuly 24, 2012
Elizabeth Doering Tampa, FL Review Submitted July 23, 2012 Date of Stay July 14, 2012 Thank you Bruce and Marion! We had a fabulous time in your home! The kitchen is gorgeous and fun for all of us to cook in or just sit at the island and socialize. The living room is very spacious, enough room for all four adults plus three children to hang out comfortably! All three bedrooms are large and comfortable. The hot tub on the deck is amazing, as is the river below. Bruce and Marion are wonderful - very friendly and hospitable. We could not have asked for a better experience. Thanks again, and count on us to be back! Rating: 5 out of 5 Recommended for: Adventure Seekers , Sightseeing , Families with Teenagers , Families with Young Children , Romantic Getaway

Paul & Jeannette PompiJune 29, 2012
Bruce & Marion were able to accommodate us at ’last minute’ notice. We were fortunate to find a two-night opening which we grabbed. Not ever havng been there, we were not sure what to expect. Sometime pictures can be deceiving. Boy, were they ever! Our ’getaway’ cottage was even more wonderful than the pictures and the description had us envisioning. It was beautiful, quaint, right on the river, it was clean and had everything you could want AND MORE. A grill, a deck with a killer view in any direction, river rock ’dinosaurs’, a fireplace, and a hot tub to soak your cares away in....oh, and DUCKS. They kept us company nearly the whole time. I think they enjoyed out Italian bread more than we did. We were happy to share. Bruce and Marion, you made us feel as though we were right at home. It was so nice having ’happy hour’ with you two on Friday night. We do plan to return. Who knows, we might just decide to start our very own ’Bat Cave’ business. One never knows.... Thank you again for a most wonderful, memorable, RELAXING weekend. We will see you soon... Paul & Jeannette Pompi Irmo South Carolina

MissyJune 29, 2012
Spent a week at the cabin with my family. It was perfect. My grandson lived the river. It had something for all of us. Bruce and Marion are wonderful. We fell in love with bat cave a would love to move there. Missy Albemarle NC If all that rent from me buy we will Double the size of Bat Cave and they may have to put up a Red Light, Some have bought a 2nd home.

Nicola Hardie from EnglandJune 25, 2012
We stayed here for 4 nights at the beginning of June 2012 and had a wonderful break!!! The cabin is perfect and the location even better! Plenty to keep the more active among you occupied, whilst at the same time providing a peaceful escape from the hustle and bustle of everyday life. I would definitely return here! 10 out of 10 :-) Heaven really IS a place on earth!

Walt & Rindi WhitlockJune 25, 2012
This place was awesome! It was so peaceful and relaxing. I loved the huge deck with the hot tub and the sound of the river flowing beneath will put you to sleep! It is perfect for a romantic weekend or for a family stay! I will def be going back to this cottage. Bruce and his wife are two of the nicest people that Ive ever met. We had everything we needed right there in our cottage! Next trip we look forward to putting the gas grill to use! Simply awesome and cant wait to return!!!

Tony & Betsy GodwinJune 1, 2012
Review #5169324 Wish We Were Still There, We Will Be Back Very Soon, The Very Best!!!!! My new husband and I arrived not knowing what to expect, had never been to Bat Cave before. This was the best time we have ever had and our first trip as husband and wife. The owners of this wonderful place made us feel right at home. Everything we needed and even much more. The place is very easy to get to with paved roads the whole way and parking right in front of your home away from home. It had been many years since we had been on a trip like this with working and family and it was very private but close to everything we could ever imagine we would need or want. The picture of the property are fantastic but do not give the real picture of the beauty and pleasure we enjoyed. The inside of the place had so many brand new extras and each morning waking up to coffee on the river was not only relaxing but a sound we never hear and enjoyed. I did not have to bring anything from home except clothes which was great because planning a wedding and then the big day I was so tired when it came to packing but found that everything and even more was there for us. I have owned a hot tub in the past and the hot tube was top not only brand new with all of the added features but very very clean as was every part of this place. The sleeping was very confortable not only the futon in the living room but the bedroom was great. The pictures shown on the web sites do not do this place justice. Everything was great! Grocery shopping is 20 minutes or less away, shopping in the town of Chimmeny Rock 10 minutes away and Ashville is a short drive. This is a perfect place set on a beautiful river, very private, everything needed and more. The owners will definately make you feel at home but give you the privacy you want on your Honeymoon, they are wonderful people and we are so glad to have met such special people. This Honeymoon could have not bee been better!!!! We recommend this place to everyone of all ages and if you have a large group they own the house next door with 3 bedrooms which is just as nice. Give them a call but don’t take the weekend/week we want. Can’t wait to go back!!!! Thank you Bruce and Marion you have a wonderful home and thank you for making us part of it. Tony and Betsy

Brian HillMay 29, 2012
Review #5162213 Locaton, Location, Location This little cabin boasts big-time charm, enhanced greatly by to its location, which is almost literally "on" the river. When the owners descibe it as "10 feet above and 10 feet from" the river, they’re not kidding. My wife & I found it impossible not to fall in love with the sights and sounds of the rushing river. Overlooking the river from the deck on the rear leaves one feeling transported back to nature, although there are properties to either side and the road close by the front side of the cabin. It’s been tastefully remodeled with high-end details like marble countertops, deluxe cabintery, knotty pine walls, comfy furniture and, best of all, the HUGE deck overlooking the river. During our stay, my wife & I essentially lived on the deck - relaxing in the hot tub, reading in the comfy chairs, cooking on the gas grill, enjoying our meals al fresco - all accompanied by the ever-present rushing river. Even as we slept at night, we invited the river inside by opening the bedroom windows and were lulled to sleep by its sounds. The owners were friendly, accomodating and full of knowledge about the other riches that the area has to offer. Upon our arrival, they cheerfully reviewed key points with us (operation of hot tub, satellite TV, gas fireplace, etc.) and then were very respectful of our privacy for the remainder of our stay. We took advantage of the cabin’s other amenities: the river raft (tethered to the two shorelines), the campfire spot on the shore, the Wi-Fi & the Bowflex exercise equipment and enjoyed them all. We’ve already recommended this property to a few friends - the pictures we took are all they needed to see - and are preparing for a return trip ourselves.

Debra JohnsonMay 29, 2012
We enjoyed staying here so much we didn’t want to leave.We enjoyed the hot tub and river at our back door.We set a fire by the river every night and made s’mores! Really friendly owners made us feel very welcomed.

Polly BurtonApril 23, 2012
Review #5090636 Location, Location, Location We truly enjoyed our stay at Bat Cave River Cottages. All the amenities were excellent. Loved the kitchen and deck overlooking the river. Chimney Rock and Lake Lure were conveniently close by, and Bruce and Marion Baker excellent to work with. We will be coming back again. Thanks for a very enjoyable and relaxing stay.

John P SmallwoodApril 17, 2012
If you want the full Bat Cave experiance STAY HERE! This has it all. Even if you just want to relax and rest your mind. Try sitting on the deck overlooking the river and listening to the sounds of the water tumbling over the rocks accompanied by the ever present fresh mountain air breeze. Then you can look up and start adding up the different birds,bats, minks, otters etc. That live here for free. It was truly a wonderful experiance my wife and I stayed here for 5 days and did everything. This is one of those places you feel so comfortable while here. The accomodations were excellent, Bruce and Marion will take care of anything you need on a moments notice. Everything is clean and modern. If you are looking for a great place to stay and relax this is it.

Katrina JohnsonDecember 8, 2011
The Bruce and Marion were genuinely hospitable, and eager to help with anything. The property and hot tub were immaculate. Beds were comfortable and kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed for cooking and cleaning. Location is fabulous on the river, and a quick ride into the Chimney Rock community for a great lunch! Shopping in Hendersonville and at Biltmore Park made this a great spot for our retreat weekend!

Mark DessuarDecember 7, 2011
Thank you again for the great stay at Bat Cave River Cottages. It was the perfect spot for our family – peace and fun by the water in a very cozy place. We hope to return again sometime. Cheers, Mark

Patrick MurphyDecember 7, 2011
We were here from 11/23-11/26, over the Thanksgiving holidays. It was a special 40th birthday treat for me! The owners were very nice and accomodating. It was like a home away from home, but better. Chimney Rock and Lake Lure right down the street, and just a little drive away, and we were able to hit to see the beautiful Catawba Falls for Thanksgiving. We enjoyed the DirectTV for football, lounged in the hot tub every night, and relaxed in the cozy living room with the fireplace. Having the running river right outside the door was so tranquil, we even got to see an otter at play! This is definitely a wonderful place to stay. Thank you for the hospitality!!

Sally MurphyDecember 3, 2011
This is a gorgeous place. The pictures don’t do it justice. It has a lovely feel and incredible view. Highly recommend it.

Maruge TaubeNovember 23, 2011
This quaint mountain cabin was perfect for my wife and I, and our other couple friends. It was roomy and clean as a pin. Loved the game room and the hot tub was awesome. The owner was wonderful. We had few needs, but when we called Bruce he was right there every time to help. The cabin is strategically located to many spots to visit and see. The river right behind the cabin is beautiful and the sound affects are wonderful. We hated to leave and can easily recommend this cabin for any couple with or without kids. Thanks for the hospitality Bruce and sharing this wonderful cabin with us.

Sarah WrenNovember 4, 2011
We had a great time at Bruce and Marion’s cabin. It was pretty chilly that weekend, so we took full advantage of the hot tub on the back deck, enjoying nature right from the nice warm hottub overlooking the river, even in the morning when the temp was in the 30’s! We also enjoyed making our own little bonfires and roasting marshmallows at night. And we cooked out on the grill both nights! All these things you just can’t do in a hotel or most rentals. The location was great, a short drive from Lake Lure (where we very much enjoyed the pizza and views at La Strada) and the shops at Chimney Rock(the ice cream place was really fun and nostalgic). Bruce and Marion were great and so hospitable! You can tell they’ve put so much work into this place, i.e. updated fixtures, granite countertops...Perfect for a couple or small family!

Andy LaymirdNovember 4, 2011
We came to Chimney Rock for our anniversary & decided to venture a little out of town to find a private romantic palce to stay. Just 2 miles up the road we found "The Bat Cave Cottages" & what an AMAZING find!!! It was everything we were looking for & more!! It is romantic, private, relaxing, clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, luxurious, & FUN!! We truly enjoyed every minute we spent there! We relaxed in the hot tub checking out the views from the deck, snuggled & played board games near the fire, got in touch with our inner child in the game room, cooked a few yummy meals in the gourmet kitchen, & fell a sleep listening to the river. Bruce & Marion (the owners) are wonderful & kind people who made us feel right at home.This place has everything you need & want while on vacation! There is so much to see & do in that area that it makes "The Bat Cave Cottages" the PERFECT palce to celebrate any occasion, any season for couples, families, & friends!!!! We are already planning our next trip back!

Bill StewartOctober 25, 2011
We truly enjoyed our stay at your cottage. It was just perfect. Wish everyone could be so lucky. The river currents and the sound make it so relaxing. Your cottage was so nice and relaxing. Thank you for the grilled steak samples you brought us. So nice of you to share. They were just as tasty as they smelled when we got out of the car when you were grilling them. Thanks again for all your help. Wish I could have met Marion. I really like the high flexible faucet in the kitchen and the deep kitchen sinks

Lisa BivensOctober 25, 2011
Hi Bruce and Marion! I apologize for not responding to you guys earlier. I have been so busy. See how bad I needed a vacation! I wanted to let you know how much I enjoyed your home. Everything was perfect. The house, the comfort level, the river, the time with my family….things just came together so beautifully that weekend. I meant to write in your book and things got so hectic Sunday morning, I ran out of time. But I could not have had a more perfect vacation. My mom and sister stopped by after picking apples on Saturday and we enjoyed celebrating her 66th birthday in your warm, homey kitchen. I just can’t thank you two enough! Take care! lisa

Steph SchravenOctober 25, 2011
Quaint, cozy, and oh so relaxing. The owners were friendly, the view was amazing, and everything about the place was warm and inviting! I hope to go again; maybe when it snows!

Amanda McCulloughSeptember 18, 2011
Great Place to stay! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the 3 bedroom cottage. It was like being at home. Very clean & the river was awesome. Sleeping to the sound of the river & cooking out on the deck & relaxing in the hot tub was great! Will for sure stay there again!! Thanks Bruce & Marion for your hospitality! We appreciated it alot! Travis & Amanda McCullough & family

SherriAugust 15, 2011
I found this place on VRBO while just browsing for a different type of vacation this year. We have always gone to the beach and i just wanted to try something different. My husband loves fishing and mountains... I did it for him as i really didn’t think i would enjoy it a whole lot. Boy, was i wrong! I am in love with this place and these people! What Character the house has! I only wish it could talk and share it’s stories I don’t think I’ve ever felt more at home on vacation. The hot tub was wonderful, my 12 year old loved it..she now says she likes the mt’s more than the beach! She and her friend stayed in the river 80% of the time, the remaining 20% was spent in the hot tub. the den is like a cozy haven, so quiet and relaxing. Everyone saw the Mink but me :o( maybey next trip. Didn’t want to leave...but will definitely return!

JanAugust 15, 2011
We had the most wounderful time up there this weekend. The cottage was all that was promised to us and more! Love hearing the river sound at night..so pleaseant. We will tell our friends about your place,such a nice getaway! The Maryland girls just left a few minutes ago headed back home, staying there was so much fun! Thank You! Bruce & Marion

Spur of the Moment travelersApril 28, 2011
We rented the 1 Br. in Bat Cave,NC. looking for a place to stay. We were looking for a covered hot tub overlooking the river and this was perfect ! Being on a covered deck was great because it was raining while we were there. The cabin is beautiful inside, well maintained and ’Clean’. The owner was very nice and helpful. We look forward to another visit ’For Sure!

MistyApril 28, 2011
This was the most beautiful place i have stayed at in years!!! It’s location is almost hanging over the river sleeping at night just listening to the white water was so relaxing & swinging in the swing during the day will just about put you out!

Melissa HerouxApril 17, 2011
Our family loved the time we spent here. Bruce and Marion Baker were delightful. They took care of all our needs immediately. The cottage was cozy, clean, and a peaceful getaway. We enjoyed listening to the river running outside our back door. The family played in the water, and used the rafts, explored the river, and had a great time going down the running river. We loved the hot tub, especially at night. We were able to listen to the rustle of the water and look at the stars in the sky. We went with our 3 kids, and 4 grandparents who also loved and enjoyed the river. We also enjoyed seeing the bats at night flying outside the cottage. They were great to view and didn’t bother us for those who are afraid of bats. The kids loved seeing them. We also were able to do some sight seeing at chimney rock and shopping nearby. We had a little bit of rain, but we were able to still have fun. We played games and watched a little TV. Bruce and Marion were great and I would recommend Bat Cave to anyone who is looking for a quiet and peaceful vacation.

Suzi OlmstedApril 13, 2011
Thank you Bruce & Marion for allowing us to experience your beautiful rental. Amazing views, super clean home, very accommodating. My husband & i came up with our two teen kids for spring break. Not having traveled to North Carolina in the past, Marion and Bruce were very helpful in guiding us to the many amazing places in the area to experience. Horseback riding in the mountains, river Kayaking in green river, climbing at Chimney Rock Park, and relaxing on their back deck overlooking the river, sitting in an amazing Hot Tub. It just doesn’t get any better. Thanks again!!!!

Andrew ButteryApril 13, 2011
DO YOU WANT A GOOD VACATION OR A SPECTACULAR ONE ? A friend and i were out driving checking out the scenery in the Chimney Rock area and decided, on a whim to find a room for the night to relax and enjoy the evening. I happened across the Inn and this was the last room available-- after speaking with the owner and seeing the room i booked for the night and found it,by far,one of the most comfortable, relaxing, peacefull places i have ever stayed in.( I travel for work and essentially live in hotels so for me to say this is a great deal.) I had a leisurely dinner on the back cafe table (prepared on the wonderfull provided gas grill)of Flounder and rice and enjoyed the Hot Tub over looking the babbling river below then relaxing in front of the fireplace watching a movie. I personally would rent this as my permanent residence if i could, I defenetly will be back in the near future for an extended stay.

Thomas & Rena KreitmanApril 1, 2011
We came to Chimney Rock for our anniversary & decided to venture a little out of town to find a private romantic place to stay. Just 2 miles up the road we found "Bat Cave River Cottages" & what an AMAZING find!!! It was everything we were looking for & more!! It is romantic, private, relaxing, clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated, luxurious,& FUN!! We truly enjoyed every minute we spent there! We relaxed in the Hot Tub checking out the views from the deck, snuggled & played board games near the fireplace, got in touch with our inner child in the gameroom, cooked a few yummy meals in the gourmet kitchen,& fell asleep listing to the river. Bruce & Marion (the owners) are wonderful & kind people who made us feel right at home. This place has everything you need & want while on vacation! There is so much to see & do in the area that it makes "Bat Cave River Cottages" the PERFECT place to celebrate any occasion,any season for couples, families, & friends!!! We are already planning our next trip back.

Ruthie FairbanksApril 1, 2011
My husband & I rented the 1Br. Bungalo for our 16th wedding anniversary. This place is private, Quiet,clean and serene. This was the perfect location for us to put our marriage back on track and rededicate our lives to each other. My husband and i both walked away renewed people. This place was far enough away from the hussle and bussle of it all, but not to far away from the necessities. We are already planning another trip with our children this summer and we plan to rent the 3 bedroom then. Thank you so much to Bruce and Marion.

Maranda HammondJanuary 7, 2011
What a wonderful place. The best view on the river. Great for a couples retreat or fun for the entire family. Thank you for an outstanding time.

Gary RouseDecember 31, 2010
Our family of 9, 6 adults and 3 children from age 5-9 stayed from Christmas Day to the 29th of December. The cottage we stayed in was great. All the amenities you could want, including a large hot tub which we used. The view was fantastic of the river running below us. Fire place was great to warm up in the evening. Bruce, the owner, really went out of his way to make sure were were comfortable. Every time we put out a garbage bag, and there were many every day, they seemed to just disappear. He picked them up daily. The cottage and beds were very comfortable. It snowed on Christmas day there and the surroundings were beautiful. The town was very quaint and many novelty stores. I would highly recommend staying at Bat Cave River Cottages. It was a fantastic experience for the whole family. Gary Rouse, Bradenton, Florida

Terry VanGuilderDecember 29, 2010
Enjoyed the 1 Bedroom Cottage. It is absolutely wonderful! We loved the porch and hot tub. Looking forward to spending some time again this summer in the cottage with the kids. It is perfect for getting away from all the stress of life. Enjoyed the fresh air and snow! The cottage is decorated beautifully and has all the conviences needed. Wish we could have stayed longer!

Larry JohnsSeptember 28, 2010
My recent experience with your Vacation Rentals has been nothing short of spetacular. I couldn’t have asked for more. Your personal service and attention to detail are outstanding. It is obvious to me that you take great pride in what you do and that you really care about your customer satisfaction. I definitely will be a repeat renter. Thank you again for the relaxing vacation.

Sherri ThornburgSeptember 12, 2010
Best place in the mountains to stay

 

 

 
   
Bat Cave River Cottages Bat Cave, North Carolina
  only search Bat Cave River Cottages

Bat Cave River Cottages © 2010  •  All Rights Reserved  •   Privacy Policy  •   Disclaimer
PO Box 325 • Bat Cave • North Carolina • 28710 • 828-625-9300 • Rentals@BatCaveRiverCottages.com

Designed and Powered by:Web Designs by etchy